Ross Local Schools Hall of Fame to Induct Twelve into Its Inaugural Class


During the 2016-2017 school year Ross Local Schools created the Ross Local School Hall of Fame.  This Hall of Fame has five branches: Academic, Athletic, Community, Fine Arts, and a Veterans’ Wall of Honor.  Dr. Fred Southard presented the idea to Superintendent Scott Gates in the fall of 2016 and from there the Hall was born.  Each branch of the Hall of Fame has a committee that reviews applications for induction into the Hall.  We are very pleased and honored to present the Ross Local Schools 2018 Inaugural Class.


Academic Hall

Dr. Lary Walker, Class of 1968

                             Research for a cure for Alzheimer’s disease and Parkinson’s disease



Mr. Walter Wurzelbacher

40 plus years of service with the MRAA (Morgan Ross Athletic Association)

Fine Arts          

Mr. Dan Moonitz

During his thirty year career he propelled the band to a level of excellence that has become known in the community as the "Band of Class," and started the bands thirty-three year tradition of performing at State Marching Band Finals.                        


Mr. Tony Cecere, Class of 1964

Made his career in the movie industry as a stuntman/stunt coordinator, actor, and assistant/second unit director in southern California. During his thirty year career, he performed stunts in over 100 films and television movies.


Ms. Patricia Ganz

Pat Ganz spent her entire teaching career at Ross High School where she created the theatre arts department.


Mr. Jim Wessel, Class of 1954

All State Quarterback and quarterback for Xavier University


Mr. Jay Bachman, Class of 1963

Offensive line for Ross Football; played football for the University of Cincinnati and then for the Packers and Broncos in the NFL


Mr. Tyler Minges, Class of 1998

Baseball State Player of the Year 1998; drafted by the Cleveland Indians in 1998


Mrs. Kayla Bush, Class of 2000

Girls soccer All American and Gatorade National Player of the Year; played at University of Tennessee and was team captain as well as first team all SEC


Ms. Angie O’Farrell, Class of 1989

Basketball all time leading scorer (boys and girls); continued her career playing at Georgia Tech


Mr. Jake Richards, Class of 2002

Cross country and track state qualifier four times; state champion in the 800 meter; ran track at the University of Cincinnati where he was named team captain


Mr. Randy Smith, Class of 1980

Boys’ basketball all-time leading scorer; lead Ross to the 1980 State Basketball Championship


Induction weekend begins Friday, January 19, 2018 with the inductees being introduced at halftime of the home varsity basketball game against Mt. Healthy.  The induction ceremony will take place on Saturday, January 20, 2018 at the Courtyard by Marriott Hamilton.  Ticket information will be available on the Ross Local Schools Hall of Fame website found on the Ross Local School District website.

Back to School News      Print News Article