Skip To Main Content

Ross Athletic Hall of Fame

Ross Local Schools Athletics Hall of Fame Shield

Mr. Michael Bruening
Mike Bruening was Ross’ first state champion in track and field when he won the 800m race in 1993.  He was undefeated in the 800m that season and was named Runner of the Year by the Cincinnati Enquirer.

Mrs. Laura Rullman
Laura Rullman was the first male or female athlete to earn 12 varsity letters at Ross. She did so in the sports of volleyball, basketball, and track and field. Laura went on the play volleyball for four years at Georgia Tech.

Mr. Ron Chasteen
Ron Chasteen was the coach of the 1980 basketball team that won the state title. He also had a successful career coaching basketball at Fairfield High School.

Mr. Gary Weitzel
Gary Weitzel was the fastpitch softball coach for 12 years, compiling a record of 257-59 and was named coach of the year 5 times. His teams won 10 League Championships, 8 District Championships, and 3 Regional Championships.

Mr. Matt Hess
Matt Hess holds the record for the best 3-point field goal percentage in a season and is third on the all-time scoring list. At Brescia University he set the record for 3-point field goals in a season. Matt was also a standout in football and still holds school records.

Mr. Brian Floyd
Brian Floyd was a 3-time state qualifier in wrestling. He is the current record holder for the best record in two different weight classes.

Mr. Jim Kernohan
Jim Kernohan was a long time Athletic Director for the district. He was also an assistant coach on two state championship teams.

Mr. Jim Wessel, Class of 1954
All-State Quarterback and quarterback for Xavier University

Mr. Jay Bachman, Class of 1963
The offensive line for Ross Football; played football for the University of Cincinnati and then for the Packers and Broncos in the NFL

Mr. Tyler Minges, Class of 1998
Baseball State Player of the Year 1998; drafted by the Cleveland Indians in 1998

Mrs. Kayla Bush, Class of 2000
Girls soccer All American and Gatorade National Player of the Year; played at University of Tennessee and was team captain as well as first team all SEC

Ms. Angie O’Farrell, Class of 1989
Basketball all-time leading scorer (boys and girls); continued her career playing at Georgia Tech

Mr. Jake Richards, Class of 2002
Cross country and track state qualifier four times; state champion in the 800 meter; ran track at the University of Cincinnati where he was named team captain

Mr. Randy Smith, Class of 1980
Boys’ basketball all-time leading scorer; lead Ross to the 1980 State Basketball Championship